Jumping Back in with WeVideo

Hello!

It has been a while since my last post, so welcome to all the new followers, and thank you for stopping by!  I hope you are finding useful information here – please drop me a line if there is something you would like to see on the blog!

I have been neck deep in new projects with teachers at my school and can’t wait to start telling you about some of the tools I have been using.  First up is a great site called WeVideo.

Now that my school is 1:1 with laptops, many teachers are now shifting to having students create video content, mostly for unit or semester projects.  I love the idea of this, but always found it frustrating when I used Windows Movie Maker, the program that comes pre-installed on all of our student devices.  It often would shut down, stall, or pop up error messages, making it hard to get meaningful work done in a short amount of time.  This is why I was so happy when I discovered WeVideo through another tech-teacher colleague of mine.

WeVideo is one of the most versatile free video editing tools out there.  First of all, it is cloud based and will sync across devices (and there’s a app for it too) – always great for people on the go.  Secondly, it allows the user to choose between several different levels of editing tools, ranging from very basic to very advanced, making it a great site to use withe younger and older students alike.  In terms of the actual video editing, it closely mirrors Movie Maker, meaning that, if you have a working knowledge of Movie Maker, you can quickly and easily teach yourself how to use WeVideo.

My favorite part of WeVideo, however, is its ability to “share” video projects.  Similar to Google Drive and SkyDrive, WeVideo allows for multiple collaborators to share and edit the same video file.  As a teacher, evaluating the usefulness of an application in the classroom, this always scores big points.  Now, this feature only comes with a paid subscription, however I feel the cost for the license is actually pretty reasonable, given how powerful of a tool this could be.

I am curious to hear from you out there – what is your video editing tool of choice?  I am always looking for new ideas!

Leave a Reply

